PPC is a cost-effective form of marketing that can help you reach your target audience by targeting them with ads on their favorite websites, social media platforms, and search engines. It’s one of the most common forms of online marketing and is known as pay-per-click (PPC) marketing.
While there are many different types of PPC campaigns that you can create with your budget, Google Ads tends to be the most popular choice for PPC marketers. In this guide, you’ll learn how PPC works, discover common types of PPC ads, and how you can improve your Pay-Per-Click advertising.
How does PPC marketing work?
PPC marketers create paid ads that appear alongside search engine results or on social media sites. If someone clicks on your ad, you’ll pay a fee to the site where your ad is displayed. Your budget tells you how much to spend each day and determines who sees your ads. You can set daily spending limits to make sure your budget doesn’t get out of hand.
For example, if you set a daily budget for $20 and the average cost-per-click is $0.50, your ad will appear 2 million times on search engine result pages or websites each day. If it didn’t generate any clicks, the maximum amount you would be charged is $10.
Of course, not all clicks are created equal, which is why marketers bid on keywords that they hope will generate the most conversions. You can also bid more to have your ad appear above others in search engine results, called ad rank. This tells search engines to prioritize your ad when someone searches for that keyword or phrase.
How do I know if PPC marketing is right for my business?
PPC ads can indeed cost you money, but they’re usually very effective in most niches. That’s because it allows companies to be extremely targeted with their marketing efforts and connect with people already seeking the service or product they offer.
One of the most important factors in determining whether PPC ads make sense for your business is to compare your budget with how much you stand to lose if sales don’t increase. Another option is to invest a small amount — like $100 or $200 — and see what kind of return it generates before moving forward with a larger campaign.
What are the different types of PPC ads?
You can create many different types of Pay-Per-Click campaigns with your budget, but Google Ads tends to be the most popular choice for new advertisers. Here are some examples of how you can use keywords or phrases in your PPC campaigns:
Display Network Text Ads: This type of PPC ad appears on Google’s Display Network and other sites across the web. You can use demographic information, search terms, or site categories to create more specific ads.
Remarketing: This type of PPC ad is based on previous website visitors. If someone visited your site recently and didn’t purchase anything, for instance, you can use remarketing ads to encourage them to return. You can even show visitors different ads based on which site they were browsing before arriving at your website.
Location Targeting: With location targeting, you can only bid on or show ads in certain locations, like targeted cities, regions, or countries. This is a good option for businesses that are looking to narrow in on their local market.
Language Targeting: With language targeting, you can only bid on or show ads in certain languages. Use this option if your business is looking to target Spanish-, French- or German-speaking customers, for example.
Device Targeting: With device targeting, you can only bid on or show ads to customers on certain devices, like smartphones and tablets.
Expanded Text Ads: With this type of PPC ad, you use double the character limit for text in your headlines and descriptions. The extra characters help emphasize benefits and set your ads apart from competitors’.
Product Listing Ads: This PPC ad appears next to Google Shopping results and includes images of products. If someone clicks on your ad, you’ll pay for each purchased product through the shopping cart service.
Call Extensions: With call extensions, your company phone number (or local telephone number) will appear above or next to your ad text in search engine results. If you want your business to be found on mobile devices that don’t show ads, you can use this feature.
Where should I place my PPC ads?
It’s important to consider where you’re spending money and how it impacts your return on investment (ROI). Because most PPC ads are pay-per-click or cost-per-click (CPC), it’s important to focus on the keywords and phrases that provide conversions. That said, you don’t want to bid more than what your business can afford.
A search network is a good place for businesses with highly targeted campaigns and a clear idea of their customers. If you’re in a competitive niche and looking for less-expensive options or are new to PPC ads, you might want to start on the display network. The demographics available here are broad, and the number of competitors is lower.
What metrics should I look at?
– Quality Score: This metric tells you how relevant your ads, keywords, and landing pages are to what people search for online. You can find the Quality Score for your ads in the Keyword Tool, AdWords dashboard, or AdWords editor. The higher your quality score, the lower you’ll pay per click.
– Clicks: CPCs are calculated based on how many people click your ad after seeing it. You can use this information to determine which keywords or ads are most successful when driving conversions. You might want to reduce bidding on certain terms if they’re not performing well and increase bids for better performers.
– Impressions: This metric tells you how often your ad appears in search results (and other places like YouTube). Even if you get fewer clicks than competitors that outbid you for specific keywords, impressions will help show how often your business appears online.
– Conversions: Clicks are an important metric, but there’s more at stake here. A conversion could be completing a purchase, signing up for your email list, or filling out a form to download something. You’ll need to determine which metrics matter to your business before setting goals and determining success.
– Cost: If you’re not meeting your business goals with PPC ads, look at cost-per-click (CPC) rates first because these depend on the keywords you bid on. However, it’s important that you also look at other factors like traffic sources and campaign types (for instance, product listing ads require different strategies than text ads).
How do I set my costs?
Your costs depend on the specific keywords you’re targeting, search volume, and competition. To find out how much you should bid on certain phrases, visit the Keyword Planner. You can also spend more to reach a wider audience or less to focus on specific segments of your target market (for instance, customers that might only be interested in your product at a specific price point).
Pay-per-click marketing is a great way to promote your business and attract new customers online. Before you begin, define your goals and determine how to measure success.
If you are looking for PPC services in Sydney, Helpline Marketing has packages to suit every business type.